Another Blog

I searched through the previews of blogs in this site and picked one that seemed interesting. I came across “It Sucks to Grow Up: The Birthday Edition”. I decided to read it because my own 19th birthday is in a months and a few days, and I’ve been thinking, time passes by so fast once you no longer want it to.  The blog post is about birthdays, their meaning to kids and their lesser value to adults. The author wrote about birthdays because his birthday had just passed and he write in a very direct, honest way, as if him and the reader are having an actual conversation . Like him, I’ve always wondered what is the point of baby birthdays (other than the presents aiding their parents to save money), because they won’t remember them, I guess is because of the pictures they will admire when they get older. I relate to the author’s changing perspective on birthdays, when I was younger my birthday was something special, a day I’ll get rewarded with gifts and good wished (a day to dress up and enjoy more than any of the other days) just for being me. As he says ” ..I like the world to celebrate me.” Unfortunately adult life is quite dull when celebrating another year of life and since the world is more realistic (younger years=fantasy), one is no longer creative in one’s desires.

Leave a comment